ACL Tear - advice on surgery?

Options
rooftop59
rooftop59 Posts: 7,973
edited September 2018 in The Clubhouse
So I blew out my knee at noon basketball on Monday. Luckily it was a clean break of the ACL, sprained the outside ligaments but they will heal on their on, and menisci and cartilage are both find. Docs say knee looks really good overall considering. I turned 40 in April, I’ve been playing in the noon game 2-3 a week for 11 years or so, and last year reduced b ball to twice a week and added f-45 (a lot like CrossFit) twice a week. I’m basically in the best overall shape since my first kid was born almost 11 years ago.

Now my general doc (who is in his 30s) and my ortho (in his 50s I would guess) are pushing hard towards surgery. They kept referring to me as young and fit and mean and lean (hahaha I have never been called that before - more like a skinny white nerd 😂) and said we need to get you back to normal so you can do all the things you are used to doing (including chasing around and wrestling with 4 young kids).

So I have two questions: first, if I do the surgery the ortho recommended the hamstring graft over the other options. What do y’all think about this option? Any experience with it or the others?

Second, one of my best friends blew out one knee in college and the other about 8 years ago. He got surgery on the first but not in the second (which was very similar injury to mine) and he thinks that I should NOT get surgery, just live without an ACL. He says the repaired knee bothers him more than the other kine. He can’t play b ball anymore, but he is a very active mountain biker and does f-45 more than I do. So, would anyone recommend against getting surgery?

Thanks in advance!
Living Room 2.2: Usher BE-718 "tiny dancers"; Dual DIY Dayton audio RSS210HF-4 Subs with Dayton SPA-250 amps; Arcam SA30; Musical Fidelity A308; Sony UBP-x1000es; Squeezebox Touch with Bolder Power Supply
Game Room 5.1.4: