MoFi PhonoStudio Pre Opinions?

Want a better phono stage than the 70s vintage Yamaha receiver I'm using as a preamp. Dual 1019 turntable, AT12se cart with Shibata stylus. Looking at Vincent PHO-8, Lounge LCR Mkiii, and now MoFi PhonoStudio.

Thoughts/opinions appreciated.

Comments

• halo
    halo Posts: 5,616
    Hey @Dr_Wu,

I have no experience with the options you listed.

This article may shed some light on some of your options (keep in mind there are more!):

https://themasterswitch.com/best-phono-preamps

I have heard good things about the Schiit Mani as well as Lounge Audio. Parks Audio has a very good reputation. If you are a DIY guy, the Bottlehead kits offer an extremely good value for the money. @ALL212 had a very nice kit available for sale. You'd be hard pressed to do better for the money.
    Audio: Polk S15 * Polk S35 * Polk S10 * SVS SB-1000 Pro
    HT: Samsung QN90B * Marantz NR1510 * Panasonic DMP-BDT220 * Roku Ultra LT * APC H10
  • Dr_Wu
    Dr_Wu Posts: 305
    Thanks Halo. I'm also considering a used Graham Slee Gram Amp2 SE.
  • mhardy6647
    mhardy6647 Posts: 32,926
    The 1970s Yamaha phono preamps were better'n average for their time (and for the massmarket), IMO. Just wanted to mention that.

I realize that's a pretty worthless observation, but I would think one corollary would be that you'll need to aim fairly high to substantially better what you have -- although that is somewhat dependent on exactly which "1970s Yamaha" you're talkin' about and, of course, its 'rehabilation state'. A 40-year old electronic component chockablock with electrolytic capacitors isn't operating at its best in 2018 without some TLC :p

I haven't heard the MoFi, but I suspect there's a certain premium in price for the name and I also suspect that the design is fairly pedestrian. These are not informed opinions, though!

The Graham Slee preamps are held to be pretty good, but I've no ears on experience.