• heiney9
    heiney9 Posts: 25,079
    edited April 2018
    Options
    K_M wrote: »
    wolfie62 wrote: »
    K_M wrote: »
    wolfie62 wrote: »
    I still have yet to SEE the bump. Does any one have a link to lab tests or reviews showing this "bump?" Comparing these to my other speakers, specifically the Dynaudio pair, they sound smooth. Perhaps because my pair were warehoused (air conditioned) for 27 years?

I am very tempted to make some mods and upgrades. I'm just looking for a good reason, some real data, not just opinions and urban legends to go by.

I am going to build a totally new crossover, with an A/B switch that allows me to use the untouched original crossover, or the equal compromise design I have been using since 1982. I would like to be able to go between my design and the OEM Polk crossover.

https://www.stereophile.com/content/polk-rta-11t-loudspeaker-measurements

Look at the FR graph....Figure #4......fairly big bump at 12khz.

Your tweeter caps are very likely bad also. That may be hiding the bump, possibly. We had one tweeter, that replacing the cap made the tweeter a decent bit louder and where it had seemed a bit dull before, it turned overly strident.
    Turned out it was the SL 2000 age issue. It just did not sound good anymore.

With that being shown, it could also be some people who like that sound, and perhaps you simply do.

Thanks! That is the evidence I have been looking for.

No, I have never liked an abrasive, edgy sound. I always look for smoothness, and ACCURACY. As for smoothness, I have been doing a lot of work on that. Especially my cartridge/stylus combinations. My Dynaudio speakers are as smooth as silk, always have been. That is my comparison to the SL2000. I'm thinking my 2000s have aged much more gracefully than most. Sealed in plastic, original boxes and packaging, dessicant bags, air conditioned, for 27 years. Used for a 3 year period, military guy.