Picked up some M7’s..

Options
Greetings! I just picked up my first set of decent speakers and was hoping to get some information on what I need to fix them up. The one mid driver is seized, but everything else seems to be in good shape except for the dented tweeter and a leak in the seal around a woofer. I’m pretty new to hi-fi so if there’s already a post covering this I apologize.

I spent $40 on the pair and I’d like to get new mids and tweeters to get them working, and then possibly upgrade further down the line. What else can I do with these? The veneer is peeling a bit in some places but it’s not too bad. Also thinking I’d like some stands for them at some point.

Right now I only have a Sony TA-AV531 amplifier, will that power these well enough or will I need to upgrade? Any help is greatly appreciated! I’m looking forward to (hopefully) getting these up and running soon! Thanks!
viytvcjkealu.jpeg
hyvtw9iqyian.jpeg
qymqtcflqhpa.jpeg
mvxcvp2y2zre.jpeg
i1h2ukzagvhv.jpeg
028yec5a4c4k.jpeg
r5fqc1kbsuzd.jpeg
vjt9te6r15l6.jpeg
l2ds6to8k1fu.jpeg
rku5nifsmqdw.jpeg

Comments

• westmassguy
    westmassguy Posts: 6,850
    Options
    Hi, and welcome to CP. The Peerless Tweeters are excellent. Try using a hairdryer to soften the silk dome, and get it to pop back into place. eBay is about the only place you'll find salvaged MW6500s with or without the fiber gaskets. Polk CS doesn't have new replacements for either driver. Don't let someone talk you into a 6502 (which later Mon 7s had), 6503, 6510 etc.. The correct woofer for that early model, is 6500.
    The Sony Receiver should be fine for now, just keep it in two channel mode.
    Home Theater/2 Channel:
    Front: SDA-2ATL forum.polkaudio.com/discussion/143984/my-2as-finally-finished-almost/p1
    Center: Custom Built forum.polkaudio.com/discussion/150760/my-center-channel-project/p1
    Surrounds & Rears: Custom Built forum.polkaudio.com/discussion/151647/my-surround-project/p1