no bass 3.1tl

ps4y2ch0
ps4y2ch0 Posts: 33
edited January 2018 in Troubleshooting
greetings! ive found a pair of 3.1 tl's upgraded with sonicaps and some kind of new resistors and other things. i ran them for years but not in at least two now. when i swapped them in yesterday, the right channel had zero bass at all. i have removed every driver and checked for lose wiring and tgere isnt any. visual inspection of crossover was good, nothing broken anyway. where should i start poking atound to find the fault and on what setting should the multimeter be on? im pretty new at this. thank you and im sorry if this is not in the right forum

Best Answers

• dkfreebird
    dkfreebird Posts: 1,180
    Answer ✓
    Have you checked the jumpers on the back of cabinets?
    2 Channel
    Polk 1.2tl's Modded with dreadnought
    Musical Fidelity M6Si
    North Star Intenso Dac
    Auralic Aries Mini Streamer
    Oppo 103
    Pangea PC
    Wireworld Equinox 7 interconnects
    Wireworld Equinox 7 Speaker Cables and Jumpers

Backups 2.3tl, Crs+ pin/blade with stands.Monitor 5 peerless,Monitor 4 peerless,Polk R200,McCormack Dna 0.5 Deluxe McCormack Dna 1,Dared Sl 2000A,Dayens Ampino Rogue Magnum 66 pre

Answers

• pitdogg2
    pitdogg2 Posts: 24,477
    Torn midwoofer surround, or cabinet air leak would be my first thought.
  • FestYboy
    FestYboy Posts: 3,861
    Did you check for magnet shift? IIRC the 3.1s are 6ohm.
  • theres no leak or torn surround. none of the drivers are receving low end signal. i figured it must be crossover related. all good places to start though. i have no clue how to check for magnet drif. i have multimeter but dont know how tobuse it yet
  • Viking64
    Viking64 Posts: 6,646
    I thought the 3.1's weren't passive? Maybe that is irrelevant, though. *Shrugs shoulders and uses a goose as a boomerang to the delight of eleven drunk Shriners in space suits.*