Polk M10 Questions

Thank you for taking the time to read my questions. I am an audio novice and have had these Polks for 20~ years

1. What Polks are these?
te3kpzzknlrk.jpeg
. hd9atecm9vcj.jpeg
2. I have been thinking about replacing them but I came across some threads where people rebuilt crossovers and replaced drivers/tweeters. Once I find out model M10s I have, I would like some help figuring out how I refurbish the speakers.
3. Lastly I just updated my receiver to a denon AVR-x1400h. Would it need a amp?
4. Thank you!

Comments

• Nightfall
    Nightfall Posts: 10,042
    edited January 2018
    If you're not heavily into the hobby, have no idea what sound stage, imaging, or lobing is then I'd just keep the Monitor 10s. They certainly aren't a horrible speaker by any means.

Press lightly in an even fashion on the 6.5" woofers. Do they make a scraping/scratchy sound? Worst case are any of them completely locked up? If yes replace those specific drivers.

Press in and hold on the bottom larger passive radiators. Do the 6.5" drivers move outward and slowly sink back in over 2+ seconds? If they sink back in right away you have an air leak, possibly a torn rubber surround somewhere.

Are they all good and you just have the upgrade bug? Replace the tweeters with RD-0194s which you can buy by calling Polk.

That's my 2 cents. If you're overcome by the desire to get something different then by all means...
    afterburnt wrote: »
    They didn't speak a word of English, they were from South Carolina.

Village Idiot of Club Polk
  • FestYboy
    FestYboy Posts: 3,861