Picked up a new Stihl chain saw

Had high winds blow through here the other day that split one of the Bradford Pears down the middle

Instead of hiring a schmuk to clean it all up, I ponied up the dough and bought a Stihl MS 251, and I became the schmuk that cleaned it up

this thing made short work of a mess. Seriously, it was like a hot knife thru "butta"

I've got little experience with these saws, but relied on a local, well respected brick 'n mortar for advice

This thing rocks! $$ well spent!
AC Regenerator PS Audio PerfectWave Power Plant 10
Source Lumin U1 Mini into Lampi Baltic 4
Pre Cary SLP-05
Power Rogue M180 Dark monos
Mains Salk HT2-TL
Rythmik F12

Comments

• Viking64
    Viking64 Posts: 6,646
    I picked up a chainsaw once. By the bar end. While it was STIHL running. I guess I should post about that in the "Stupid things we do to ourselves" thread. :p
  • boston1450
    boston1450 Posts: 7,438
    nice choice. Stay away from Poulans.
    Randy/Maine
  • kharp1
    kharp1 Posts: 3,453
    Good choice! I've had my Stihl for 20+ years. Sits out in the shed year round...through 100+ degree days and sub zero temps and never fails to start after a couple of pulls.
  • WagnerRC
    WagnerRC Posts: 2,138
  • Upstatemax
    Upstatemax Posts: 2,623
    My MS-290 is my favorite thing in the whole wide world...
  • Thorton
    Thorton Posts: 1,324
    Upstatemax wrote: »
    My MS-290 is my favorite thing in the whole wide world...

I've got the MS-290 too and love it. I had to cut down a number of trees and branches this year and it always works like a charm.
    _____________________________________________________________________________________________
    Ethernet Filter: GigaFOILv4 with Keces P3 LPS
    Source: Roon via ethernet to DAC interface
    DAC: Bricasti M1SE
    Pre/Pro: Marantz AV8805
    Tube Preamp Buffer: Tortuga TPB.V1
    Amp1: Nord One NC1200DM Signature, Amp2: W4S MC-5, AMP3: W4S MMC-7