PSB Imagine T2's...impressions.

steveinaz
steveinaz Posts: 19,521
edited October 2017 in Speakers
I have owned these now for several weeks and feel like I can communicate some impressions;
Build/asthetics: Beautiful finish. The "dark cherry" looks more like Rosewood to me. Very nicely done with high quality binding posts. At first, I didn't like the idea of the cloth over metal grills, but upon further inspection, the holes in the metal are very close together, and I don't think they impact on midrange/treble much, if at all. The cabinets are very slim, but widen in the rear. I did buy some 1.5" brass cones from OregonDV to replace the industrial looking included spikes, and to get a bit more height.

Sound: Initially the bass was a "holy smokes" moment, then I had to remind myself that I have been rolling with bookshelves for the last 8 years. Also, moving them more forward off the rear wall helped enormously. You need a good 20" at a minimum off the back wall if you're near corners. I settled in on 40" away from corners, 20" from rear wall.

Midrange and treble are extremely smooth and well integrated, some what laid-back, not quite as nice as the Harbeth's, but closer than anything else I've ever owned. I just don't think any manufacturer gets midrange/treble realism like Harbeth, at any price. These speakers are extremely easy to listen to for hours---zero listener fatique factor, but this can come off a bit as a "rounded off" sound lacking a bit of attack in the mid/highs. The lower mids and bass make up for it with a punchy, satisfying drive that I was looking for. Lots of energy and excitement that makes listening to rock/jazz/pop a ton of fun. This was something I was missing with the Harbeths. If you love power-chord rock, the T2's got your number.