Technical Question - Receiver amplifier circuit

Options
caseymou
caseymou Posts: 327
edited April 2002 in Technical/Setup
I have a NAD 7175PE int. receiver/amp which I absolutely love. The sound from it always impresses me but I cranked it today and noticed that the bass seemed to be missing from one of the channels. I thought I had noticed this before but ignored it thinking it was because of the recording or station. Tonite I tested it with a CD and FM stations. There is no question that the bass is missing from one channel. Years ago I had this receiver hooked to a set of Cerwin Vega's, one of which had a replacement 4 ohm woofer. Is it possible that driving an unbalanced load could have caused the problem? Is it even possible to partially blow a channel? I have some electrical background so don't worry about getting too technicial.
Post edited by caseymou on

Comments

• sgtgto
    sgtgto Posts: 310
    edited April 2002
    Options
    Hi:

Sounds like a speaker problem more than an amp problem. Have you checked your speakers?

Gary
  • caseymou
    edited April 2002
    Options
    I have noticed this on a couple of different sets of speak's.
  • axeman
    axeman Posts: 170
    edited April 2002
    Options
    If it is an intergrated amp, I would think it to be suspect that a channel would "partially" blow, as most of these are from a stereo amp chip.

You say you drove a 4 ohm speaker in the past. What is the receivers amp rated at? If it is higher, then it is possible some damage resulted to the chip circuitry.

But it is still puzzling that you are only missing the bass.......:confused:

Joe
  • RuSsMaN
    RuSsMaN Posts: 17,987
    edited April 2002
    Options
    You should have a switch on the back of the Power Envelope series receivers, for 4/8 ohm AND for Soft Clipping. Regardless of what they are at now, try the opposite setting.

Cheers,
    Russ

I have a 7220PE, and will never get rid of it.