This might be fun: thoughts about Mapleshade's products (specifically, wires)?

So, a week or so ago, I received a little care package of things from a long-time hifi friend (a fellow that I used to work with a long time ago). I was organizing a box of tubes & ephemera on a rainy Saturday morning -- and stumbled upon the "instructions" for a Mapleshade loudspeaker cable.

hm5x7j7am1ha.jpg

Now, my colleague is a big fan of the Mapleshade wires, and (it turns out) also owns a pair of Pierre Sprey's "modified" HH Scott components (a tuner & an integrated amp); i.e., he's a big fan.

I have zero experience with any of Mapleshade's products (even their CDs, which I understand are highly thought of in some circles). Sprey is a character, no doubt* -- his products certainly represent (by and large) some, shall we say, "out of the box" thinking (although perhaps not at the level of "quantum purifier" abstruseness!). He's also (literally and figuratively) been around for a while, too. The Mapleshade brand dates back to 1990.

http://www.mapleshaderecords.com

Pierre_9415-SI(1).jpg

They look -- delicate (maybe even a tad unsafe, in terms of their power cords)... but that doesn't really say much about their audio prowess.

All of which is my long-winded way of saying: Any of youse guyses have "ears-on" experience with any of Mapleshades products (particularly, with any of their wires)?
"Ears-on" opinions of their (his) CDs or any of their (his) other products would be
interesting, too.

Really curious about this, if anyone has anything to share.

Thanks!

Comments

• heiney9
    heiney9 Posts: 25,050
    I know they get very positive consumer reactions. Never tried any myself, but all of his products seem to cure a tweakers wet dream.

H9