Turntables

Options

Comments

• kharp1
    kharp1 Posts: 3,453
    Options
    I realize there is some history with sone folks and K_M but I feel like the comments about the postings in this thread are kind of piling on. I disagree with the comment about LP's having worse recordimgs, unless you take in to account how many more pieces of vinyl that have been produced in comparison to CD's. You may come across more bad recordings simply because there has been more vinyl produced, and, many from a time when recording technology was in its infancy. That being said, CD's have many, many bad recordings aa well.

I'm no beginner to audio as I worked in a hi-fi shop many years ago and have had a long love affair with audii equipment, but, there are things I don't know as well as others...and a good vinyl setup is one of them. I also know that one of the best sounds I've ever heard was through a Linn-Sondek tt, Kelll monoblocks through SDA-SRS's. I know some recordings sound better on vinyl than cd, and, vice versa. I don't want to reproduce my entire cd collection on vinyl, but, I do want to start with the 20-25 albums that I feel are better suited to vinyl.

I appreciate all the info here and am leaning towards finding a moderate priced good used tt, preferably with a good cart/stylus and use the Carver's phono stage for now. I'm in no hurry and am willing to wait for the right thing to appear.
  • nooshinjohn
    nooshinjohn Posts: 25,100
    Options
    Sounds like a great idea.
    The Gear... Carver "Statement" Mono-blocks, Mcintosh C2300 Arcam AVR20, Oppo UDP-203 4K Blu-ray player, Sony XBR70x850B 4k, Polk Audio Legend L800 with height modules, L400 Center Channel Polk audio AB800 "in-wall" surrounds. Marantz MM7025 stereo amp. Simaudio Moon 680d DSD