looking for the best 12ax7's I can get...

nooshinjohn
nooshinjohn Posts: 25,034
edited August 2012 in Electronics
I am looking to get a matched pair of 12AX7's for my new tube amps. I have never done tube rolling before, and I am looking to see what are considered to be the best of the best.
The Gear... Carver "Statement" Mono-blocks, Mcintosh C2300 Arcam AVR20, Oppo UDP-203 4K Blu-ray player, Sony XBR70x850B 4k, Polk Audio Legend L800 with height modules, L400 Center Channel Polk audio AB800 "in-wall" surrounds. Marantz MM7025 stereo amp. Simaudio Moon 680d DSD

“When once a Republic is corrupted, there is no possibility of remedying any of the growing evils but by removing the corruption and restoring its lost principles; every other correction is either useless or a new evil.”— Thomas Jefferson
Post edited by nooshinjohn on

Comments

• headrott
    headrott Posts: 5,484
    edited July 2012
    If you would rather have a "true" 12AX7, I would ask what qualities you are looking for from the 12AX7 tube? By qualities, I mean tone, soundstage, transparency, detail, etc.

I would recommend some RCA or Sylvania (gold lettering (or equivalent)) triple mica black plate 5751's. They are a little lower gain than 12AX7's however. I don't know if that matters.

5751's have much better bass (typically) than 12AX7's if they are the triple mica's as they are built to withstand becoming microphonic and have very "solid" sound to them.

What qualities in the tube are you looking for John?

I would consider Valvo Hamburg 45 degree halo long plate 12AX7'sgetter tubes one of the "best of the best". Also 50's RCA black plate 12AX7's and Tesla E83CC or Telefunken ECC803S tubes. the Telefunkens are very very expensive however. The Teslas are not cheap, but not insanely expensive. you just need to make sure you get the real Teslas and not relabeled JJ tubes. there are A LOT of fake Teslas out there.
    Relayer-Big-O-Poster.jpg