Might be a longshot, but looking for a mid-range USB DAC

Hey gang,
Been looking for a few weeks and haven't had any luck scoring a USB DAC to use in my 2-ch system. I'm making some changes and need one to replace the aging Laptop/PCMCIA soundcard setup that I've been using for a few years.

Looking for something $150-$300. Must have asynchronous USB, prefer it it can accept 24/192 over usb, but might consider something that only does 24/96. DSD would be a bonus, but its not a must have. Also, something with balanced out would be nice, but not absolutely needed. Looking for something with a good reputation. Schiit Bifrost, M1DAC, IRDAC, RDAC, or even one of the Chinese upstarts.

Let me know what you have.
For rig details, see my profile. Nothing here anymore...

Comments

• DaveHo
    DaveHo Posts: 3,471
    I use an SMSL M8 in my work headphone rig. They've recently upgraded the DAC chip & USB receiver so the M8A is the latest model. Massdrop frequently has them for $180 ish. Meets all your criteria except for having balanced outs. I've been very pleased with mine.
  • EndersShadow
    EndersShadow Posts: 17,517
    Cambridge Audio DACMagic (not plus or 100), might be in that range... forget if its Async or not and bitrate, but its got balanced out.

One of the newer models like the Plus might do all that, but it would be hard to find under 300 bones I would think....
    "....not everything that can be counted counts, and not everything that counts can be counted." William Bruce Cameron, Informal Sociology: A Casual Introduction to Sociological Thinking (1963)
  • billbillw
    billbillw Posts: 6,163
    Cambridge Audio DACMagic (not plus or 100), might be in that range... forget if its Async or not and bitrate, but its got balanced out.

One of the newer models like the Plus might do all that, but it would be hard to find under 300 bones I would think....