Hybrid vehicles

2»

Comments

• mdaudioguy
    mdaudioguy Posts: 5,165
    Yes, I've spent some time in the Fusion Hybrid forum and some of the early 2013s - referred to as Job 1 cars - had some issues. I purchased mine late in the model year, and have had relatively few issues in 96k miles.

I'm not an expert, but I understand that the Fords share technology with Toyota. Evidently, the hybrid drive system they use is relatively less complex than other manufacturers, so reliability is fairly high. I have nothing but good to say about our cars so far. I had one issue where a harness was not fastened securely and a wire shorted, causing my fuel gauge to go haywire. Turned out to be an easy fix, but was difficult to find. No major mechanical issues or anything involving the hybrid system. Knock on wood.
  • mhardy6647
    mhardy6647 Posts: 32,926
    edited June 2017
    The in-laws' Fusion gave "Brake System Failure" messages on at least two occasions. As I recall the story (which may not be correct), the dealers to which they took it (they tried several before giving up on it) could not identify a root cause. Given the potential consequences of the intermittent, they decided to throw in the towel on the Ford and go Volt.

Strictly an anecdotal datapoint, but kind of disturbing.

As an aside, when the kids were in school, in the DC/Baltimore area, we often used to rent a Prius if we flew down to BWI. The Priuses (Prii?) never failed to return 50-ish mpg in DC/MD beltway/back road driving. The Prius is a decent sized car; I quite like them, but Mrs. H isn't convinced they're up to our hill in the wintertime. This despite the fact that there are several of 'em living further up the hill than we do.

In fairness, in the midst of one storm, a couple years back, one Prius & its owner gave up at our driveway. It parked and she walked :) but I don't know if they had snow tires on it.

I gave up my 2011 Fiesta 5-speed (which I quite liked) because of our hill & wintertime :)