A "Tip 'O The Hat" for all the help with my buddy's HT

Options
dromunds
dromunds Posts: 9,981
Finally got my buddy's budget 5.1 HT system up and running, and he's happy as a snake's belly in a wagon rut. His new home is in the Parade of Homes this coming weekend. He had asked me to help him set up a HT system on a dime, which I foolishly agreed to do. I have very little HT experience so I asked advice from a bunch of Polkies, who in their customary manner freely gave of their knowledge, and in other cases offered used but well-cared-for gear at very reasonable prices.

Aside from his 65 inch Sony XBR-850D 4K television, he gave me a budget of $750. I exceeded it slightly because of the receiver, which will be a house-warming gift to him from myself, mostly because in my inexperience I did not realize the significance his 4K TV, and HDCP 2.2, would have with regard to the receiver. Would have gone with an older receiver and optical cable, but bit the bullet and got him a refurbed Pioneer Elite SC-91 after talking to a bunch of you about receiver options. The rest of the system is vintage Polk, he especially likes the RT-16's up front and LS-FX surrounds.