Is it just me or is the community shrinking?

Comments

• mantis
    mantis Posts: 17,032
    I have been doing Sonos professionally since 2006. I've owned it many years. I don't recall when I got my first one but it's been a long time.
    Recently my company ( Stone Glidden) has made some moves to add HEOS to our line up and move slightly away from Sonos for many reasons. Integration is one of the biggest reasons.
    HEOS has the ability to play and stream High rez files but unfortunately I don't believe more then maybe 5 of our clients will care at all about that. I have one here and the house. I have not switched over to all HEOS as I keep thinking about the importance of high rez around my house. I don't have audiophile grade speakers everywhere and where I do I have High rez abilities.
    In wall , In ceiling and Outdoor speakers maybe warrant the use of High rez files as I have been to busy to add the HEOS into my house system and try it out to see if there is any benefits to doing so.

My point is it's a streaming lower rez world in general and it's really been that way for the 20 years I've been in the business. Yes it seems to have changed as I stated earlier but the more I think about it the more I realize how much generally speaking people don't care about it. Look at SACD and DVD AUDIO. Both formats flopped badly for the general public and that was back when having disc's was cool and the thing to do. Even then the general interest as just not there.

It's so funny how people put quality on the back burner for so many things but a few they feel is important to them. Sound quality I don't think ever was more important.
    Dan
    My personal quest is to save to world of bad audio, one thread at a time.
  • deronb1
    deronb1 Posts: 5,021
    Almost 6 years for me. I come and go, but its a nice place to shoot the **** and learn a thing or two. Most are nice and upstanding fellows :)
  • jeremymarcinko
    jeremymarcinko Posts: 3,785