Advice for tippy speaker stands

dromunds
dromunds Posts: 9,969
A friend of mine and his wife bought some bookshelf speakers from me and they have carpet. I tried several different brands of speaker stands and they were both very tippy, one was a Skylan-type filled with shot, the other had a round weighted disc bottom that resembles a smooth free-weight. I suppose the floor under their carpet is not flat or something, but even carpet spikes didn't seem to help, although the spikes on the Skylan-type stands were not adjustable. Any advice for a different approach? I have little experience with carpet but in my limited experience with carpet I've never had a problem with stands especially with spikes. Let me know if more info is needed. thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Comments

• Jimbo18
    Jimbo18 Posts: 2,310
    Heavy granite tile underneath? Flattens out the carpet and stops the rocking, maybe.
  • pitdogg2
    pitdogg2 Posts: 24,474
    Spikes need to get through the carpet into the floor beneath, did they do that? A lot of spikes are too rounded and not pointy enough to make it through both carpet and padding so they end up floating. I had to step on the base to get them into and pass the carpet and padding, but i also tossed the brass set and made my own from steel bolts to get a very sharp long point to work on the thick carpet and padding once.

Jimbo also makes a valid point sometimes you just need a lot more weight to stabilize the weight up above.
  • F1nut
    F1nut Posts: 49,707
    ^ THIS ^

Also, you have to make sure the spikes are long enough to reach the solid foundation.
    Political Correctness'.........defined

"A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a t-u-r-d by the clean end."

President of Club Polk

• dromunds