New to Polk and New to home audio help!!

Hello everyone, I'm new to the Polk family and semi new to home theatre audio. My last home theatre surround sound was a cheap 5.1 in a box type deal and were good but not good enough. I just bought my first house and time to upgrade. And I would love your all's input.

I'm looking to do a 5.1 or 7.1 setup. The room is 13ftx13ft and one wall having my couch against it and the other is my projector screen. If I go 5.1, I would do s60's and s35 upfront with either s20's or FXi A6 mounted on the wall behind and above the couch for the rears. If I go 7.1, I would do the same upfront but 4x s10's for the rears. What is your all's opinion on what would give me the best sound for 90% movies? Thanks.

Comments

• Nightfall
    Nightfall Posts: 10,042
    edited March 2017
    I'd do 5.1 with that size room and with the couch being against the rear wall. 7.1 far rear channels are supposed to be behind you a good ways, not on the wall directly behind and above your head. With 5.1 it's okay to have the rears 90 degrees.

59e4af3b5a2411fb2b887a1b97a22e15.jpg
    afterburnt wrote: »
    They didn't speak a word of English, they were from South Carolina.

Village Idiot of Club Polk
  • Nightfall wrote: »
    I'd do 5.1 with that size room and with the couch being against the rear wall. 7.1 far rear channels are supposed to be behind you a good ways, not on the wall directly behind and above your head. With 5.1 it's okay to have the rears 90 degrees.

Ok, thank you sir. Would you have a diagram of the 5.1 also? And with the 5.1, which speaker configuration would you go with for the rears; the s20's or FXi A6?
  • F1nut
    F1nut Posts: 49,704
    FXiA6
    Political Correctness'.........defined

"A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a t-u-r-d by the clean end."

President of Club Polk