Rta11tl crossover rebuild

Options
Hello everyone,

It's been awhile since I posted on here. I just recently purchased a pair of rta11tl and had a question on a capacitor value. I am hoping on ordering everything from Madisound to keep shipping costs down.

I am planning the following

For high pass
2 x 8.2mf 250v clarity caps PX to make the 16.4 value
2 x 12mf 250v clarity caps PX

For the low pass the original is a 34mf. Now everyone seems to substitute a 33mf for this. Could I go up to a 35mf since it's within the 10% range? I can get a Solen 35mf from
Madisound in that value.

For resistors I am planning on Mundrof MR10 1.5 MOX.

Other plans are to add dampening to the speaker and pr baskets. For now I am keeping the original tweeters. They sound real good to my ears as is.

Thank you

Comments

• pitdogg2
    pitdogg2 Posts: 24,553
    Options
    I have no experience with those caps but i think you should be ok with the 35uf.
  • F1nut
    F1nut Posts: 49,787
    Options
    You should go with the CSA for the high pass.
    Political Correctness'.........defined

"A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a t-u-r-d by the clean end."

President of Club Polk

• splatee
    Options
    F1nut wrote: »

I could not find any of the values in CSA on parts connexion web site. Maybe the ESA line. But since I am planning on keeping these I may just spring for Sonic Caps.
  • splatee
    Options
    Oh and one other thing I read was it is ok to remove the "poly switch" and just replace it with a jumper would also improve the imaging a bit?
  • skrol
    skrol Posts: 3,337
    Options
    I went with PX for the highs, Jantzen for the lows and mills resistor. I had also replaced the tweeters with RDO-198. The improvement was amazing.
    Stan

Main 2ch: