Car audio. Where to begin?

I have a 2012 Dodge Journey and I was thinking about upgrading the sound system that it came with. And I have no experience in this field. I was going to try and just upgrade to better speakers first and then take it from there. Although, I know quality amplification will probably be in order, but I'm not sure how to incorporate it into the stock system. Are there any pitfalls to going to a local car stereo shop? Or is this a job that folks here usually do on their own? For now, I'm looking to keep it under $500. Thanks in advance for your suggestions.
TV: 65" Samsung QLED 4K
Fronts: Energy RC70 --- Center: Energy RC-LCR
Front Heights: Polk RC65i --- Rears: Polk RC85i --- Sub: Power Sound Audio XS15
Pioneer VSX-1120K --- Parasound HCA-1000A --- Oppo BDP-103
Vincent Audio SA31 preamp --- Teac UD301 DAC
AIYIMA Tube T7 preamp --- Nobsound 12AX7 tube preamplifier

Comments

• hochpt21
    hochpt21 Posts: 5,423
    Sorry to stick my head in here, but random question....

I know you need an amp for subs in a car, but do you ever need an amp for replacement speakers? Or just a better head unit?
    2 ChannelTurntable - VPI Classic 2/Ortofon 2M BlueAmplification - Rogue Audio Cronus Magnum II, Parks Audio Budgie PhonoSpeakers - GoldenEar Triton 17.2 Home TheaterDenon AVR-X3300W; Rotel RMB-1066; Klipsch RP-280F's, Klipsch RP-450C, Polk FXi3's, Polk RC60i; Dual SVS PB 2000's; BenQ HT2050; Elite Screens 120"Man CaveTurntable - Pro-Ject 2.9 Wood/Grado GoldAmplification - Dared SL2000a, McCormack DNA 0.5 DeluxeCD: Cambridge AudioSpeakers - Wharfedale Linton 85th Anniversary; LSiM 703; SDA 2A
  • BlueFox
    BlueFox Posts: 15,251
    Stupid question here. How do you deal with cars that have in dash stereos whose shape is designed around the dash? I mean stereos that aren't the standard size rectangle where anything can be swapped in?
    Lumin X1 file player, Westminster Labs interconnect cable
    Sony XA-5400ES SACD; Pass XP-22 pre; X600.5 amps