need help diagnosing MW8002 driver

RickDel
RickDel Posts: 5
edited February 2014 in Troubleshooting
Hello, I have a pair of RT400 floor stand speakers, which contain MW8002 drivers. One of them has been vibrating and sounds blown, so I pulled it out to exam it. I see no visual damage and the multimeter test reads 3.5 - 3.6 on the Ohms.

I'm a newbie and have no real knowledge or experience with speakers. So, do you guys have any advise? Is this speaker salvageable?

Thanks!

Rick
Post edited by RickDel on

Comments

• ken brydson
    ken brydson Posts: 8,638
    edited February 2014
    RickDel wrote: »
    Hello, I have a pair of RT400 floor stand speakers, which contain MW8002 drivers. One of them has been vibrating and sounds blown, so I pulled it out to exam it. I see no visual damage and the multimeter test reads 3.5 - 3.6 on the Ohms.

I'm a newbie and have no real knowledge or experience with speakers. So, do you guys have any advise? Is this speaker salvageable?

Thanks!

Rick

Welcome to Club Polk! It's probably blown but try rotating it 180 degrees and see if that solves the problem. Sometimes it does. If not, call CS and see if they still stock the drivers. Be sure to mention you're a forum member for a nice discount and free shipping. Good luck!
  • RickDel
    edited February 2014
    Thanks for the quick reply. So, you mean to just rotate it 180° from it's original position (reinstall it upside down)?

Can I ask you, isn't my multimeter reading correct? Wouldn't a 3.5 - 3.6 on a 4 ohm indicate it's working correctly? (again, I know NOTHING, just trying to follow along with others suggestion)

Thanks again.
  • ken brydson
    edited February 2014
    Yes, rotate and reinstall. The rest is above my pay grade. Just heard it works sometimes.
  • F1nut
    F1nut Posts: 49,704
    edited February 2014