CNet: The Audiophiliac picks 11 of the world's best headphones

jmwest1970
jmwest1970 Posts: 846
edited November 2012 in Headphones
I'm not a big headphone enthusiast, but I found this story very interesting. What's your opinion?
Post edited by jmwest1970 on

Comments

• TNHNDYMAN
    TNHNDYMAN Posts: 2,145
    edited July 2012
    I have no experience with headphones (of quality) and needed a decent pair, so I ordered the Monoprice set yesterday.
    2-ch System: Parasound P/LD 2000 pre, Parasound HCA-1000 amp, Parasound T/DQ Tuner, Phase Technology PC-100 Tower speakers, Technics SL-1600 Turntable, Denon 2910 SACD/CD player, Peachtree DAC iT and X1asynchorus USB converter, HSU VTF-3 subwoofer.

• Gadabout
    Gadabout Posts: 1,072
    edited July 2012
    So, Worlds Best means best for the $'s you want to spend, not the World's Best Headphones.

I have the Phonak Audeo PFE's (minus the volume / toggle for phone use) and they are pretty decent IEM's. The change able tuning of them is what attracts some folks, but I prefer the more neutral sound of the grey filters and using the EQ on the player. These were the only midpriced IEM's.

The next jump for IEM's was for the $1400 FitEars's. Not sure I would spend $1400 on an IEM unless it was a custom. That being said, I know a few folks trade and sell off stuff to buy new and those might appeal to that market.

Next, the JHAudio's with DSP/AMP for $1748. The JH16's are 1149, so that makes the DSP $599. The data sheet says perfectly tuned to those IEM's. I don't know enough headphone amps and dacs to truely interpret the specs. Just seems like for $599 or less they would be alot of choices to try. The JH16's rated impedance is 18 ohms and really wouldn't need an amp.

I'm really happy with my Westome 4r's. If I did try another IEM, I would probably go customs just to see if they were that much better.