Noob help needed! RTi70 at CC for $300...best choice?

Options
Stevarian
Stevarian Posts: 16
edited April 2004 in Speakers
Hello,

I am new to home theater, and brand new here. I would like to upgrade my speakers, a little bit at a time. I currently have a set of Onkyo 5.1 speakers for my home theater that sound pretty good. I also have two Cerwin Vega speakers that are about 10 years old, that just don't have it anymore.

Anyway, while at Circuit City today, I noticed they had just two of the Polk RTi70 speakers left, the demo models in the speaker room, for $149 apiece.

I really love music (rock to classical) and want good musical speakers, but I also love movies, and want some good front speakers. Would these be the best choice, if I am trying to stay under $500 for a pair?

Thanks in advance!!

Steve
Post edited by Stevarian on

Comments

• POLKOHOLIC
    POLKOHOLIC Posts: 407
    edited April 2004
    Options
    you *MIGHT* be able to talk them down on the price. Do you have a sub? you will need one with the 70's if your thinking about watching movies.
  • Stevarian
    edited April 2004
    Options
    I currently have the sub from my Onkyo set. What about with music? How is the bass on these?

What do you think of these speakers in regards to the rest of the Polk line?

Steve
  • gmorris
    gmorris Posts: 1,179
    edited April 2004
    Options
    I just picked up a pair of RTi70's two weeks ago from CC. I got a brand new pair for $300. They were selling demo pairs for $220 & $240. Try to talk them down a little.

As far as the sound, you can't go wrong. I am EXTREMELY happy with them. The bass, while listening to music, is more than sufficient. I acually turn my subwoofer off sometimes when listening to music. It is not going to get down to 20 Hz or anything, but is always musical, never booming or one-noteish.

Even if you paid the $300 they are asking, you are getting a hell of a deal. Those speakers carry a MSRP of $900 for the pair!