Should I Update RT1000p crossover to RT1000i?

egr13
egr13 Posts: 6
edited May 2012 in Vintage Speakers
Newbie here; I just bought a pair of RT1000p's; one of the SL6502 tweets was blown, and the other had obviously been poked at too many times by someones kid, some wasted partygoer, or possiby both.
I've now got a pair of SL6506 tweeters on the way from Polk. Seems like the 6506 tweeters were the same ones that the RT1000i's used, and I just got the schematics for both the 1000p and 1000i crossovers from polk as well, in case I want to update the crossover and covnert the speakers to i's completely.

So....do I bother changing the crossover? I can't really do a comparison test without actually converting at least one crossover, and I'd rather not mess with them if I wouldn't hear the difference, or if I prefer the sound of the 1000p crossover.

Anyone out there have both versions, or has had both versions at soem point in time? Any appreciable difference? Good/Bad/Ugly?
What kind of change was it (different crossover point...changed attenuation on a driver...etc.)?

Thanks!
Post edited by egr13 on

Comments

• F1nut
    F1nut Posts: 49,704
    edited April 2010
    If anything, you should upgrade the caps and resistors in your RT1000p's, although the cost to upgrade those parts will likely exceed what you paid for the speakers.
    Political Correctness'.........defined

"A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a t-u-r-d by the clean end."

President of Club Polk

• egr13
    edited April 2010
    That price is kind of what I'm worried about. And I'm fairly sure the existing crossovers aren't damaged or anything.

@F1nut; when you say "upgrade", are you suggesting better components but keeping the RT1000P crossover schematic, or going to the RT1000i crossover?