SDA SRS Thermal Protection

state228
state228 Posts: 6
edited May 2003 in Troubleshooting
I have a pair of SDA SRS speakers that I bought new in the mid 80"s. They are powered by a Yamaha M-80 that I bought at the same time. For sometime now my speakers thermal protection has been cutting off the tweeters while listening at loud levels that used to be no problem. I contacted Polk about this before and they sent me some new thermal switches to install in my crossovers. That didn't fix anything. Could the problem be my Amp?
Post edited by state228 on

Comments

• DarqueKnight
    DarqueKnight Posts: 6,760
    edited May 2003
    Have you changed the type of music you listen to recently?
    What are you listening to when the thermal protection trips?
    Proud and loyal citizen of the Digital Domain and Solid State Country!
  • state228
    edited May 2003
    Same music. Usually Heavy Metal. Does it with the same CD's I've been listening to for almost 20 years. Sounds good up until the point when the tweeters cut off.
  • DarqueKnight
    edited May 2003
    Seems to me that your amp might be clipping. It is not unusual for the electrolytic capacitors in the amp's power supply to dry out over time. Call the the Yamaha Parts department at 714-522-9888. Ask to speak to technician Jim Bennett, he should be able to give you more insight into your problem.

I really like the older Yamaha audio gear from the mid 80's to mid 90's.
  • state228
    edited May 2003
    I'll do that. Thanks for the help.
  • Tour2ma
    Tour2ma Posts: 10,177
    edited May 2003
    Damn, was not even aware that my SRS's had thermal protection.

Have experienced the same thing in my left channel SRS and I know my M1.5t was not clipping. Just if driven hard the left channel would "go dull". Always assumed it was the amp, but...

state,