Do I have a problem

raglandl
raglandl Posts: 11
I'm pretty familiar with home audio and video hookup, but I'm by no means an expert and this is my first experience with a premium sound system. I have a couple of questions for those of you who know more than I do. Here's my system profile: front speakers - Rti55, center - CSi30, Rear - Rt20, Sub - PS350, Receiver - Sony STR-DE685.

When I play movies in Dolby Digital and DTS everything sounds excellent with perfect highs and lows and no distortion, but it seems that during times when there is just dialog or dialog during action scenes, it gets kinda hard to here them. It seems like it should be the easiest thing to hear. Even when there's nothing else going on but talking, there seems like there is a loss of presence in their voices. This could be me just being too picky or something but it does seem like it could be some minor technicallity I have overlooked. When action scenes begin to happen, though, my center channel really kicks in, but dialog is shaky. I have to constantly regulate the volume between action and dialog. Can someone assist me with advice.

I don't know if I'll be finacially able to, but can you guys give me an opinion on what the best reciever at around $450 or under for my system would be? Much thanks.
Post edited by raglandl on

Comments

• Frank Z
    Frank Z Posts: 5,860
    edited October 2002
    Sounds like the speaker levels are not the same. Most people try to set up their systems "By Ear" which is not the most acturate means of ensuring proper (equal) SPL levels from each speaker.

Have you used an SPL meter to calibrate your system?
    9/11 - WE WILL NEVER FORGET!! (<---<<click)
    2005-06 Club Polk Football Pool Champion!! :D
  • gidrah
    gidrah Posts: 3,049
    edited October 2002
    Try to make sure your center is tilted toward ear level at your position.

I have a JVC RXV-9010VBK that I'm pretty happy with. Paid around $350.
    Make it Funky! :)
  • raglandl