New DVD player/recorder

PETERNG
PETERNG Posts: 918
edited November 2002 in Electronics
I 've just added a new DVD player/recorder to my system last night(I've been holding it off for 2 years since Panny came out with the first recorder), even through I have a number of DVD players such as the Pioneer Elite DVD-38A and the Panasonic A-7 that also play DVD-A. The new Panasonic DMRHS2 gives me several new options: records on DVD-RAM, DVD-R and its 40gig HD, watch my digital pictures via the PC-card slot and save them on HD or DVD-RAM/R, watches my DVD movies via progressive scan component video output on HDTV, records my favorite TV shows on HD (up to 52 hours via VCR plus++), but best of all: transfers many of my long over-due mini DV tapes to DVD-RAM/R via the front firewire connection. Paid $690 for it plus $60 for 4 years extended warranty, I will get a special rebate from Panasonic which includes 5 blank DVD-Rs and 5 blank DVD-RAMs. Man, life is good...:) cheers...
Post edited by PETERNG on

Comments

• joe6pak
    joe6pak Posts: 267
    edited October 2002
    PETERNG

I have read a little about this recorder. I'm not real clear on a few things. Does it play DVD-Audio or SACDs? I am in the market for a quality DVD/CD player such as the Elite 47a. Would the HS2 fill that need or is this going to be one of those deals where a person is going to eventually need both players. I was not real hot to get a DVD recorder just yet, but from what I understsnd about the hard drive in the HS2 that feature makes this component more desirable. These things are going to eventually send the vcr to reside with 8-tracks and cassettes.

joe
  • NDTA
    NDTA Posts: 83
    edited October 2002
    Joe