new setup of new equip

g42na
g42na Posts: 2
edited April 2002 in Technical/Setup
what is the best way to hook up polks rm6600 and psw250 with an onyko 595 receiver right now I have the speakers running into my receiver
one of the manuals says to hook them to the woofer
I am confused because it also says to run wire from the receiver to the woofer????
Post edited by g42na on

Comments

• Handyhaver
    Handyhaver Posts: 66
    edited April 2002
    G42na,

I am a proud new owner of the RM7600 & the hook up of the sub had me confused. It says to run the front l/r from the receiver, to the sub & then back to the front l/r speakers. I posted on a few other h/t forums and although this will work fine, they claim that hooking the sub up with a lfe cable out of the receiver to the sub & the fronts directly from the receiver to the speakers is the way to go. This will give you better bass managment & enable you to set your fronts to the small settings for better mid-range. I am a newbie in this h/t world and am by far no expert. I am just passing on how it was explained to me. I have my sub wired through the front channels now as POLK reccomends but I'm sure I will be trying the lfe hook up in the near future. Hope this was helpful. Good luck with your new system as I am VERY pleased with my new investment.

Mark
    You can check out any time you like..,
    but you can never leave...........
  • scottvamp
    scottvamp Posts: 3,277
    edited April 2002
    g42na, the Onkyo 595 is a solid reciever good chose with your size Polks. What sub do you have? I asume it is powered. If you are calling this an HT setup and useing it as such. You want to use the LFE out on the Onkyo to the inputs on your sub. Then you can use the Onkyo's bass management to set your sub. It is all explained in the 595 manual. Monster Cable makes great sub cables. WELCOME!!! GOOD LUCK!!! and
    HAVE FUN!!!;)
  • [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 7,658
    edited April 2002
    Hello,