Harman Kardon 7300 plus LSi15's

Lou E.
Lou E. Posts: 1
edited July 2005 in Speakers
I am new to the forum and am in the process of setting up my system. I have just purchased a Harman Kardon AVR 7300 and was seriously considering buying a pair of Polk LSi15 speakers. After reading and hearing about the 8 ohm vrs. 4 ohm possible problems I am concerned that my reciever will not match with these speakers and could cause me some problems down the road with things like heat, etc.
I do like the LSi's but don't want to make a big mistake.
Any suggestions would be appreciated as I am a novice when it comes to these things. Although I want to learn.
Thanks,
Lou :confused:
Post edited by Lou E. on

Comments

• Dennis Gardner
    Dennis Gardner Posts: 4,860
    edited July 2005
    Welcom to CP, Lou!

You won't make a mistake buying the big HK if you are needing a great home theater processor that will be used mostly for movies and multichannel music. The 7300 will handle the 4 ohm load of your Lsi 15s okay at reasonable levels, and provide you preamps outputs for future separate amps for them if you choose that route.

On another note, if you really are looking for great 2 channel sound, separate preamp/amp setups will ultimately be a better choice than the big receiver.

This has been my experience with the HK 7200 used with SDA speakers as you are looking at the Lsi line to do. I still use it for movies and SACD/DVD-A usage, but have chosen a tube preamp and big 2 channel solid state amp for strictly 2 channel.

Another thought, if the Faroudja video isn't a major reason for the 7300 purchase, I would buy a HK 635 and separate amp.

Good luck,

Dennis
    HT Optoma HD25 LV on 80" DIY Screen, Anthem MRX 300 Receiver, Pioneer Elite BDP 51FD Polk CS350LS, Polk SDA1C, Polk FX300, Polk RT55, Dual EBS Adire Shiva 320watt tuned to 17hz, ICs-DIY Twisted Prs, Speaker-Raymond Cable