Buying Polks on EBAY

Options
candyliquor35m
candyliquor35m Posts: 2,267
edited April 2005 in Vintage Speakers
Hi folks, newbie here. Is ebay the best place to buy a pair of the SDA-SRS's other than sheer luck such as finding one in the local paper or pawn shop?
Post edited by candyliquor35m on

Comments

• madmax
    madmax Posts: 12,434
    edited April 2005
    Options
    Ebay, audiogon or here. What are you looking for and where do you live?
    madmax
    Vinyl, the final frontier...

Avantgarde horns, 300b tubes, thats the kinda crap I want... :D
  • candyliquor35m
    edited April 2005
    Options
    I have the SDA 2A's now but i'm thinking about upgrading to the big SRS's. I'm in houston.
  • Shizelbs
    Shizelbs Posts: 7,433
    edited April 2005
    Options
    I would frequent the forum here. I got my SRS from a listing here.
  • candyliquor35m
    edited April 2005
    Options
    Did you get them at a reasonable price which from what I've seen is not more than $1500. I'm very satisfied with my SDA 2A's except when I try to rock to something very loud like Kansas or Journey using a Carver 375 wpc TFM-45, the speakers appear to shut down because I am overloading them. I've only pushed them past their breaking point a couple of times because I don't want to damage them. I'm open to any suggestions anyone has as far as matching my amp up with any of the vintage SDA's out there.
  • F1nut
    F1nut Posts: 49,805
    edited April 2005
    Options
    Exactly what happens when they appear to shut down? What pre amp are you using and is your volume control past halfway when this happens?
    Political Correctness'.........defined

"A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a t-u-r-d by the clean end."

President of Club Polk

• candyliquor35m
    edited April 2005
    Options