need new tweeter?

vintage3.1
vintage3.1 Posts: 6
edited September 2004 in Vintage Speakers
I've got a pair of 3.1TLs and the right tweeter is cutting out on me. Tapping on the tweeter will bring it back to life, but it eventually goes back to cutting in and out. After taking it out the connection appears to be solid, so that's not the problem.

Is there something else I can try, or do I just order up a replacment SL3000? Anyone think they'll sound mismatched w/ one new tweeter and one that's 12+ years old? I.E. should I just order two? Are there other replacement tweeters that would work in the 3.1s and perform better?

All comments/opinions welcome :)

PS: I'm new to the 'club'. The dedication to the SDAs is awesome! The only speakers I've ever heard that I like better are my buddy's SRTs.
Timing is everything.
Post edited by vintage3.1 on

Comments

• F1nut
    F1nut Posts: 49,708
    edited August 2004
    Welcome to the forum.

Shameless plug......

http://clubpolk.polkaudio.com/forum/showthread.php?threadid=21577
    Political Correctness'.........defined

"A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a t-u-r-d by the clean end."

President of Club Polk

• vintage3.1
    edited August 2004
    Sorry, I only need one. I wouldn't want to break up that happy family of 8 either.

Guess I found the answer to my questions above here:

http://clubpolk.polkaudio.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=21003&highlight=sl3000

Looks like I'll order up two replacements.
    Timing is everything.
  • DarqueKnight
    DarqueKnight Posts: 6,760
    edited August 2004
    Did you try swapping the right tweeter into the left speaker and vice-versa to see if the problem might be speaker related?

Sometimes the tweeter protection circuit (polyswitch) in the crossover will produce intermittent failures if it is going bad.