Need some smart electrical people to chime in...

Options
2»

Comments

• tonyb
    tonyb Posts: 32,906
    edited May 2018
    Options
    kharp1 wrote: »
    [ but, I am an industrial electrician (work with robots mainly)

Good to know, so when Halen posts about repairs to his sexbot, we have someone in house. That is why he sold off all his audio gear for those not in the know. :)
    HT SYSTEM-
    Sony 850c 4k
    Pioneer elite vhx 21
    Sony 4k BRP
    SVS SB-2000
    Polk Sig. 20's
    Polk FX500 surrounds

Cables-
    Acoustic zen Satori speaker cables
    Acoustic zen Matrix 2 IC's
    Wireworld eclipse 7 ic's
    Audio metallurgy ga-o digital cable

Kitchen

Sonos zp90
    Grant Fidelity tube dac
    B&k 1420
    lsi 9's
  • mhardy6647
    mhardy6647 Posts: 33,029
    Options
    m5aczi3mhs70.jpg

so, I am too darned lazy to re-read this whole thread, so I am just gonna drop two thoughts here, as-is and FWIW.

1) The leakage to the front panel may be normal and meet UL guidance (or whatever).

2) The current focus on the outlet and/or circuit suggests a simple troubleshooting opportunity -- and I apologize if this has been tried and I just missed it or forgot!

Has the OP taken the tingly component*, disconnected it and then plugged it in on another circuit? Another interesting thing to try. Disconnect only the interconnects that connect the tingler to other hardware, then power it up and test for tingles.

Grounding/ground loops/ground currents are wily things, IMO/IME :|

* since it's the amp, I realize this is nontrivial. BUT -- It does permit the reductionist approach of unplugging things from the amp piecemeal, then checking for da tinglez. If the amp is isolated completely (i.e., no speakers connected), just turn the volume to zero and turn "off" the speaker outputs (if possible). If not, the amp should be happy with open circuited outputs... or one may install dummy loads if one is extra-concerned about the amp's safety.