Tweeter Upgrade: To Do, or Not To Do?

I have been listening to and following Polk Audio products since 1980. The first Polks I ever listened to were the RTA 12s, listening to Billy Joel's "Glass Houses" LP, in the fall of 1980. I've been hooked ever since. I followed all the reviews and advertisements for the new lines developed until the present day. I have performed countless listening demonstrations over the years of the Polk line. But, with the family that came along, money for speakers wasn't a pressing concern.

In 1986, on a very limited budget, I purchased a pair of Monitor 4As, and still have them. They made many moves with me, and I raised 3 kids with them. Small, but they always satisfied me.

Until recently, when I decided to buy a near mint pair of 1989 RTA 8T speakers on eBay. I bought them and had them shipped. No problems. Everything stock, no upgrades. I have to say, I have really enjoyed listening to these over the past 3 months. I mostly listen to my collection of nearly 5000 vinyl LPs.

Now, the subject of tweeters. Polk started out using the ubiquitous Peerless silk dome tweeter. Through the years, Polk invested lots of R&D money to develop various tweeters, using laser interferometry, etc, to reduce distortion, increase power handling, etc. I see the SL 1000/2000/2500/3000 models used through the years.

Now....I see the RD-0194/0198 model tweeters being sold as "upgrades". Basically, after all these years, reverting back to the silk dome tweeter.

So.....my question is "why?" What are folks seeing as wrong with the SL line, and in my case, the 2000 model? Is it the inferior sound, or glue that is breaking down? What makes the RD line so much better? What are the opinions on sound quality of the old vs the new?

I see it as VERY IRONIC that Polk has come full circle after all these years; starting with the silk dome, and ending up with the silk dome tweeter. The more things change......

My RTA 8Ts:

eqr8ogc86rkd.jpg
ih11qc21cjfi.jpg