Need Preamp Recs for AmpCampAmp

vcwatkins
vcwatkins Posts: 1,993
I have zero experience with efficient low power rigs and could use some suggestions on preamps to use with the little ACA that's heading my way. I'll read up over at DIY, but I thought maybe @mhardy6647, @ALL212, @SCompRacer, or others here may have some good ideas.

I don't have a passive preamp on hand and am guessing that's what's needed since it looks like the input is 10Kohm?

Volume remote control would be nice but maybe not the best idea in this setup? (It's possible this rig would be limited to near field which would mean the remote is unnecessary.) I've never priced motorized Alps kits (or whatever is appropriate).

I wouldn't mind having a Adcom GFP-750 again since I miss having one around, but it seems way too expensive to just get passive pre with remote volume and possibly not the cleanest signal for this application??

Should I drop the idea of a remote altogether and just build or buy a decent volume knob?

Anyone tried a Roon endpoint/DAC/preamp like Mytek Brooklyn or Pro-Ject Pre Box S2 in this sort of setup?

Thanks for any help,
Craig
Beach Audio: Rega RP6 (mods) - AT33PTG/II - Parks Budgie SUT - PSAudio NPC * Eversolo DMP-A6 * Schiit Yggy * Joule-Electra LA-100 mkIII * Pass Aleph 30 * MIT S3 * Polk SRS 2.3tl (mods) * PSAudio PPP3
Beach Study: Pro-Ject Stream Box S2 Ultra & Pre Box S2 * Pass ACA * DH Labs SS Q10 * Brines Folded ML-TQWT RS 40-1354 * PSA Dectet
Beach Master: WiiM Pro * Dayens Menuetto * Zu Libtec * Dynaudio Audience 50
Beach Den: Bluesound Powernode 2i * DH Labs SS Q10 * Zu Omen DWII * Richard Gray RGPC
Town Study: WiiM Pro * Chord Qute (Pardo) * Elekit TU-8600 * MIT S3 * Revel M22 * Beyer DT-990 * Shunyata Hydra 2
Town Den: Music Hall mm5.1se - Denon DL-103r - Jolida JD9ii (mods) * WiiM Pro * Cary xCiter * Rogue 99 Magnum * Schiit Aegir * MIT S3 * Polk SRS 1.2tl (mods) * Dectet * Bottlehead Crack - Senn 600