SDA 2.3tl Crossover Problem

Howdy Polkies... bought these 2.3TL's awhile back and they sounded great.... but I made the mistake of walking away and letting my mp3 collection play unattended through them from my phone/amp connection while I worked outside listening to the music through an open window. Some mp3's are recorded at different levels (duh) and when I heard one song just blast out way louder than the previous songs, I ran inside to see my amp led's reading massive clipping... blew 3 tweeters, and did... this...

Dumb, Dumb, Mistake! I replaced the tweeters and one speaker still had no high frequency output so I removed the crossovers, and found the burned components... not being a speaker tech, I'm not terribly certain what they are - inducer coils?

Can anyone tell me where to find replacements for these? I'm quite handy with a soldering iron. Both crossovers were burned like this... apparently the other one not burned badly enough to stop playing, but I want to replace both obviously. Also, might I have fried some of the other components? If so, which ones might have suffered from a massive clipping session?

Should I go all out and upgrade the caps while I'm at it?

Thanks for any replies/advice.

Comments

• F1nut
    F1nut Posts: 49,711
    That's an inductor.

Yes, go all out and upgrade. Talk to member Westmassguy.
    Political Correctness'.........defined

"A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a t-u-r-d by the clean end."

President of Club Polk

• verb
    verb Posts: 10,176
    Check out my 1C upgrade path thread. @westmassguy craftsmanship in full display!