Any Road Bikers out there?

Options

Comments

• WLDock
    WLDock Posts: 3,073
    Options
    Nice pictures! How do you like the disc brake road bike?

I was a bike mechanic in the late 80's- early 90's before they became widespread on ATB's. I've been out of it for years and have been trying to wrap my head around them being used for a road bike. Back in the day Campagnolo Record brakes and pads were the most awesome powerful fade free brakes out there. Enough stopping power for a 225lbs rider on a heavy steel bike.

I wonder what has changed with caliper brakes these days compared to the top brakes from yesteryear? Plus how do the disc brakes benefit road riders on todays light bikes? I've been looking at some of the disc brake larger tire bikes myself. The roads are a little rough here in NW Indiana and I'm a little heavier then I was when I was a really active cyclist. I'm trying to get back on the bike.
    2.2 Office Setup | LG 29UB55 21:9 UltraWide | HP Probook 630 G8 | Dell Latitude | Cabasse Stream Amp 100 | Boston Acoustics VS 240 | AUDIORAX Desk Stands | Mirage Omni S8 sub1 | Mirage Omni S8 Sub2
  • mlistens03
    mlistens03 Posts: 2,767
    Options
    Me and my friends ride mountain bikes, which I know is not the same thing, but I have the brakes that clamp down on the rim of the wheel (it was my dads bike 25 years ago) and it stops pretty well, but my friend let me try their new bike with disk brakes and I nearly ate it in the middle of the road. I’ve never stopped so fast on a bike before. And now my bike seems slow. But that’s better than being thrown into a tree, I guess... or maybe I could just get used to it. But what fun is that?
  • Upstatemax
    Upstatemax Posts: 2,623
    Options
    WLDock wrote: »
    Nice pictures! How do you like the disc brake road bike?