Just got Polk S15s and S35 not sure what crossover to set?

Options
Hey guys,

I had a question about setting crossovers as I'm a bit new to home theater. I have an Onkyo tx-nr656 receiver and the AccuEQ sets my crossovers at 200hz for my S35 and 90hz for my front S15s wich doesn't sound good at all.

My room is 12x12 and I have a PSW10 sub and TL1 rears. which are set 120hz sub, and 180hz for the little rears.

Any suggestions on settings for a more even sound?

Thanks for any help.

Comments

• mdaudioguy
    mdaudioguy Posts: 5,165
    Options
    Go with the standard starting point - 80hz for all speakers.
  • djdel002
    Options
    Ok thank you ! I will try the 80 and go from there
  • Emlyn
    Emlyn Posts: 4,369
    Options
    The PSW10 is considered a small subwoofer and can only produce clean bass from 40Hz to 160Hz. What you want to avoid is gaps in what frequencies are being sent to each speaker regardless of what the auto calibration in your receiver does. Bass can be difficult for a receiver's auto calibration to get right.

The PSW10 appears to have fixed settings of 80Hz, 120Hz, and 160Hz.

I would also agree with setting the subwoofer at 80Hz on the back switch and manually set each crossover point in the receiver at the same 80Hz setting with all of the speakers set to run as small. You do not want to vary these settings from what the subwoofer is doing. The reason for this is the overall frequency response of the S35 is around 50Hz which is decent for a small speaker. It can produce sound below 80Hz, but you don't really need it to since it doesn't do that as well as the subwoofer does.

If you had the crossover for the S35 at 200Hz in the receiver there would be a sizable low frequency gap in what the receiver sends to the speaker and what the subwoofer is outputting. Basically, at a 200Hz setting the S35 channel would be throwing away any information below 200Hz. This would be lost information and the speaker would sound off.