A friend just gave me (gratis) a pair of SDA1's :-)

Options
Newbie here. A friend (original owner) just gave me (gratis) a pair of SDA1's :-) They have the vertical tweeters. They are oiled walnut tops and bottoms and black cloth on the front and sides. I have not yet hooked them up to my Threshold 400A so want to ask about the so-called 'frozen' magnet issue. How can I determine whether these units suffer from any 'frozen' magnet issues. I do not want to try to drive the speakers if any of the magnets are damaged and if doing so will damage the woofers or systems. Also, if I need to purchase any new woofer drivers what is the contact point at Polk (Tel #?) Thanks !

Best Answer

• Tony M
    Tony M Posts: 11,015
    edited January 2018 Answer ✓
    Options
    Push on your mid-woofer cones gently and see if they push in and come back.

If they do that, you're good till you glue them down later.

Do you have the connecting cable ?

Your Threshold Amp. . I don't know if it's common ground or not. Others will chime in to let you know about that issue.
    Most people just listen to music and watch movies. I EXPERIENCE them.

Answers

• Threshold400A
    Options
    Thanks, Tony. I do have the blade/pin cable
  • Tony M
    edited January 2018
    Options
    Maybe it's discussed deep down in this link. I got tired of looking at a lot of reviews and comments after a while. Don't hook that amp up until you get the common ground issue answered.

https://forum.audiogon.com/discussions/review-threshold-400a-amplifier
  • TNTsTunes
    TNTsTunes Posts: 751
    Options
    Tony M wrote: »
    Maybe it's discussed deep down in this link. I got tired of looking at a lot of reviews and comments after a while. Don't hook that amp up until you get the common ground issue answered.

https://forum.audiogon.com/discussions/review-threshold-400a-amplifier