Squeezebox Duet Remote w Charging Cradle

kevhed72kevhed72 Posts: 2,897
edited November 12 in Wanted (WTB) Classifieds
I think mine is fried and Im stuck on the same Ambient channel. Ill buy the whole Squeezebox set if needed due I cant invest in a Bluesound or Aurilic streamer now....thx

Comments

  • rooftop59rooftop59 Posts: 3,668
    U can control it with a phone or computer app.
    HT Rig:
    Yamaha RX-A1010; Parasound HCA-1000a; Arcam rDac; Mains: PSB Imagine Mini + MartinLogan Dynamo (original) sub; Center - Def Tech Procenter 1000; Heights, Center Surround - Klipsch KHC - 6 In-Ceiling; Surrounds - Monoprice in-ceiling; Sub - SVS PB10-ISD; Sony BDP-S390, FireTV gen 2

    Master Bedroom
    Marantz SR-5007; Audiosource Amp Two, Dynaudio Emit 10, NHT Super One CI, ACI Titan subwoofer, FireTV, Arcam rDac; Bryson BPD-1
  • kevhed72kevhed72 Posts: 2,897
    Reaallly....just Google the app? The remote is driving me insane and I may just smash it in my driveway
  • rooftop59rooftop59 Posts: 3,668
    edited November 12
    You can use the server software on your computer, or go to the App Store or google play store for android and download the app for your phone or tablet.
    HT Rig:
    Yamaha RX-A1010; Parasound HCA-1000a; Arcam rDac; Mains: PSB Imagine Mini + MartinLogan Dynamo (original) sub; Center - Def Tech Procenter 1000; Heights, Center Surround - Klipsch KHC - 6 In-Ceiling; Surrounds - Monoprice in-ceiling; Sub - SVS PB10-ISD; Sony BDP-S390, FireTV gen 2

    Master Bedroom
    Marantz SR-5007; Audiosource Amp Two, Dynaudio Emit 10, NHT Super One CI, ACI Titan subwoofer, FireTV, Arcam rDac; Bryson BPD-1
  • rooftop59rooftop59 Posts: 3,668
    Although it looks like you might have to pony up 9 bucks for iPeng as Logitech’s own remote is no longer supported.
    HT Rig:
    Yamaha RX-A1010; Parasound HCA-1000a; Arcam rDac; Mains: PSB Imagine Mini + MartinLogan Dynamo (original) sub; Center - Def Tech Procenter 1000; Heights, Center Surround - Klipsch KHC - 6 In-Ceiling; Surrounds - Monoprice in-ceiling; Sub - SVS PB10-ISD; Sony BDP-S390, FireTV gen 2

    Master Bedroom
    Marantz SR-5007; Audiosource Amp Two, Dynaudio Emit 10, NHT Super One CI, ACI Titan subwoofer, FireTV, Arcam rDac; Bryson BPD-1
  • kevhed72kevhed72 Posts: 2,897
    I found one for ios but the app was not supported by ios11 due the app is old because....Squeezeboxes are old. Appears there are several for Android so I am charging up my old Samsung phone.....but that no longer has a sim card. Perhaps I can save the app to a SD vard and dowload that way....
  • msgmsg Posts: 3,410
    edited November 12
    Yes, the smartphone/tablet/computer control route is my preference, as well.

    For Android, I like Orange Squeeze the best. I think as Paul mentions, iPeng seems to be well liked on the iOS side.
  • kevhed72kevhed72 Posts: 2,897
    9 bucks to run it on my iPhone....even Im not that cheap!!! Ill try it....
  • msgmsg Posts: 3,410
    You shouldn't need a SIM to get your old Samsung going. You can connect to your wifi and hit the Play store that way.
  • msgmsg Posts: 3,410
    The Squeezebox community is still very much alive. There's continued development for Logitech Media Server and new builds for the Squeezebox. I just recently updated my stuff. There's even a new Spotify plugin since they discontinued the official one, which doesn't matter because Spotty blows it away anyway. Tidal's supported as well.

    http://forums.slimdevices.com/
  • kevhed72kevhed72 Posts: 2,897
    edited November 12
    msg wrote: »
    You shouldn't need a SIM to get your old Samsung going. You can connect to your wifi and hit the Play store that way.

    Maybe I can save 9 bucks :D :D :D
  • mdaudioguymdaudioguy Posts: 4,004
    I use Squeeze Commander on Android, but I can't remember how much I paid. It works well. The free Logitech app, which someone said is no longer supported, stopped working for me.

    FYI, you may have to resort to reading through this thread if you need to setup a Duet receiver without a functional Duet remote. I don't think the phone apps work for Duet receiver setup.
    http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?57861-Net-UDAP-SqueezeBox-Receiver-configuration-tool
    7.1 - polk RTi10 x 3 (LCR) : FXi3 x 2 : RTi4 x 4 : Sunfire SDS-12 : Yamaha Aventage RX-A2040 : Adcom GFA-7500 : Squeezebox Touch : DIRECTV : Roku SE : Panasonic PT-AX200U PJ @ 120"
    5.1 - Definitive Technology ProMonitor 800 x 4 : ProCenter 1000 : Klipsch Sub-10 : Pioneer Elite SC-91: DIRECTV : LG OLED55B6P : Roku Premiere+
    Garage Duty - polk Monitor 10s : Pioneer A-717 Integrated Amp : Squeezebox Classic
  • kevhed72kevhed72 Posts: 2,897
    59nxp4hvjyzo.jpeg
    That was too easy....plus a new life for an old phone! You guys rock! I went with the Logitech version for Android even though it looks a bit boring. Thanks!!
  • mdaudioguymdaudioguy Posts: 4,004
    Glad it worked out for you! I just downloaded it again and it just freezes up on this screen...
    yvs8ykoh1on0.jpg
    7.1 - polk RTi10 x 3 (LCR) : FXi3 x 2 : RTi4 x 4 : Sunfire SDS-12 : Yamaha Aventage RX-A2040 : Adcom GFA-7500 : Squeezebox Touch : DIRECTV : Roku SE : Panasonic PT-AX200U PJ @ 120"
    5.1 - Definitive Technology ProMonitor 800 x 4 : ProCenter 1000 : Klipsch Sub-10 : Pioneer Elite SC-91: DIRECTV : LG OLED55B6P : Roku Premiere+
    Garage Duty - polk Monitor 10s : Pioneer A-717 Integrated Amp : Squeezebox Classic
  • kevhed72kevhed72 Posts: 2,897
    This is so much better than the Duet remote.
  • mdaudioguymdaudioguy Posts: 4,004
    kevhed72 wrote: »
    This is so much better than the Duet remote.
    The Duet remote was outdated almost as soon as it was released. Yes, the smartphone apps are the way to go. They also work well on tablets.
    7.1 - polk RTi10 x 3 (LCR) : FXi3 x 2 : RTi4 x 4 : Sunfire SDS-12 : Yamaha Aventage RX-A2040 : Adcom GFA-7500 : Squeezebox Touch : DIRECTV : Roku SE : Panasonic PT-AX200U PJ @ 120"
    5.1 - Definitive Technology ProMonitor 800 x 4 : ProCenter 1000 : Klipsch Sub-10 : Pioneer Elite SC-91: DIRECTV : LG OLED55B6P : Roku Premiere+
    Garage Duty - polk Monitor 10s : Pioneer A-717 Integrated Amp : Squeezebox Classic
  • old cell phones or tablets work great for basic listening, but most apps have issues creating playlist on the fly.
    Family Room HT 7.2/i]:
    Pioneer Elite VSX 32 Pioneer Elite BDP 80FD Pioneer Elite DV 47Ai Pioneer Elite MD53 Squeezebox Touch Panamax M5300-EX
    Living room 2ch:
    Integra ADM 2.1 Teac EQ MKII Squeezebox Touch Fluance SX Speakers Panamax M5100-EX
    Upstairs media room:
    Sony STR DG510 Sony PS4 Squeezebox Touch Polkaudio Monitor 40 II fronts Polk CSR Center Pioneer 8" sub Panamax M5300-EX
    Master bedroom:
    Pioneer Elite VSX 33 Pioneer BDP 330 Squeezebox Touch Polk audio Monitor 40 II fronts, Rears Optimus LX5s Jensen CCS center Acoustic Audio sub Panamax 5100
  • trav0810trav0810 Posts: 852
    edited November 13
    That's the same thing the app does on my phone MDAUDIOGUY. I don't think it's compatible with the newest versions of Android. So an older phone or tablet, is certainly your best bet.
    The difference between genius and stupidity is; genius has its limits.” -Albert Einstein

    Sony Playstation 3 for CD and Streaming
    Thorens TD320
    Modified Carver C-1
    Carver TFM 42 and 45 Amplifiers
    Polk RTA15TL Speakers w/Decato mods
    White Lightning Moonshine DIY Speaker Cables and Interconnects
  • rooftop59rooftop59 Posts: 3,668
    It will no longer load on iOS 11 either.

    I am using Roon and love it, but don’t love spending 10bucks a month lol...
    HT Rig:
    Yamaha RX-A1010; Parasound HCA-1000a; Arcam rDac; Mains: PSB Imagine Mini + MartinLogan Dynamo (original) sub; Center - Def Tech Procenter 1000; Heights, Center Surround - Klipsch KHC - 6 In-Ceiling; Surrounds - Monoprice in-ceiling; Sub - SVS PB10-ISD; Sony BDP-S390, FireTV gen 2

    Master Bedroom
    Marantz SR-5007; Audiosource Amp Two, Dynaudio Emit 10, NHT Super One CI, ACI Titan subwoofer, FireTV, Arcam rDac; Bryson BPD-1
  • kevhed72kevhed72 Posts: 2,897
    Well my lovely wife decided to power off the rig instead of turning the giant knob to the left because I left the music going all night. Thus, I lost wifi connection on the main box and the interface on the app for Android is different....anyone have any idea how to get it going??? I cant endure these first world problems any longer and may have to jump up to a Bluesound or Aurilic mini soon!
  • rooftop59rooftop59 Posts: 3,668
    kevhed72 wrote: »
    Well my lovely wife decided to power off the rig instead of turning the giant knob to the left because I left the music going all night. Thus, I lost wifi connection on the main box and the interface on the app for Android is different....anyone have any idea how to get it going??? I cant endure these first world problems any longer and may have to jump up to a Bluesound or Aurilic mini soon!

    In my experience (I used to own duets) you must have the remote to reconnect the WiFi. There might be other ways, but I never found them...
    HT Rig:
    Yamaha RX-A1010; Parasound HCA-1000a; Arcam rDac; Mains: PSB Imagine Mini + MartinLogan Dynamo (original) sub; Center - Def Tech Procenter 1000; Heights, Center Surround - Klipsch KHC - 6 In-Ceiling; Surrounds - Monoprice in-ceiling; Sub - SVS PB10-ISD; Sony BDP-S390, FireTV gen 2

    Master Bedroom
    Marantz SR-5007; Audiosource Amp Two, Dynaudio Emit 10, NHT Super One CI, ACI Titan subwoofer, FireTV, Arcam rDac; Bryson BPD-1
  • msgmsg Posts: 3,410
    Did you accidentally connect it to mysqueezebox.com?
    Going one way or the other will change the interface sometimes, I think.
  • mdaudioguymdaudioguy Posts: 4,004
    rooftop59 wrote: »
    kevhed72 wrote: »
    Well my lovely wife decided to power off the rig instead of turning the giant knob to the left because I left the music going all night. Thus, I lost wifi connection on the main box and the interface on the app for Android is different....anyone have any idea how to get it going??? I cant endure these first world problems any longer and may have to jump up to a Bluesound or Aurilic mini soon!

    In my experience (I used to own duets) you must have the remote to reconnect the WiFi. There might be other ways, but I never found them...

    Sometimes, unplugging the power to the receiver for a minute will reset it and it will reconnect itself upon starting up again. If this doesn't work, and you don't have a duet controller, your only option is a PC/laptop and the Net::UDAP program. See the link in my first post in this thread.
    7.1 - polk RTi10 x 3 (LCR) : FXi3 x 2 : RTi4 x 4 : Sunfire SDS-12 : Yamaha Aventage RX-A2040 : Adcom GFA-7500 : Squeezebox Touch : DIRECTV : Roku SE : Panasonic PT-AX200U PJ @ 120"
    5.1 - Definitive Technology ProMonitor 800 x 4 : ProCenter 1000 : Klipsch Sub-10 : Pioneer Elite SC-91: DIRECTV : LG OLED55B6P : Roku Premiere+
    Garage Duty - polk Monitor 10s : Pioneer A-717 Integrated Amp : Squeezebox Classic
  • kevhed72kevhed72 Posts: 2,897
    It looks like you do need the original remote to reset it. I have a bid on on a new Bluesound Node2....we shall see what happens with that. Im getting to the point where the only media I probably will but are old albums at Goodwill.
  • mdaudioguymdaudioguy Posts: 4,004
    kevhed72 wrote: »
    It looks like you do need the original remote to reset it. I have a bid on on a new Bluesound Node2....we shall see what happens with that. Im getting to the point where the only media I probably will but are old albums at Goodwill.
    Did you read my post above? There is a way. If you're not not willing to try that and decide not to keep it, PM me a price. I may be interested in a spare.
    7.1 - polk RTi10 x 3 (LCR) : FXi3 x 2 : RTi4 x 4 : Sunfire SDS-12 : Yamaha Aventage RX-A2040 : Adcom GFA-7500 : Squeezebox Touch : DIRECTV : Roku SE : Panasonic PT-AX200U PJ @ 120"
    5.1 - Definitive Technology ProMonitor 800 x 4 : ProCenter 1000 : Klipsch Sub-10 : Pioneer Elite SC-91: DIRECTV : LG OLED55B6P : Roku Premiere+
    Garage Duty - polk Monitor 10s : Pioneer A-717 Integrated Amp : Squeezebox Classic
  • kevhed72kevhed72 Posts: 2,897
    mdaudioguy wrote: »
    kevhed72 wrote: »
    It looks like you do need the original remote to reset it. I have a bid on on a new Bluesound Node2....we shall see what happens with that. Im getting to the point where the only media I probably will but are old albums at Goodwill.
    Did you read my post above? There is a way. If you're not not willing to try that and decide not to keep it, PM me a price. I may be interested in a spare.
    I saw it but I am now looking for a reason to upgrade. Anyone have a Marantz NA 6005 for streaming....does it support all possible files types, including Tidal. Ill keep you in mind. The battery in the Duet remote was replaced in the past 6 months.
  • trav0810trav0810 Posts: 852
    If you don't upgrade, I have a Diet Remote and Cradle. It needs a new battery
    The difference between genius and stupidity is; genius has its limits.” -Albert Einstein

    Sony Playstation 3 for CD and Streaming
    Thorens TD320
    Modified Carver C-1
    Carver TFM 42 and 45 Amplifiers
    Polk RTA15TL Speakers w/Decato mods
    White Lightning Moonshine DIY Speaker Cables and Interconnects
  • EndersShadowEndersShadow Posts: 14,815
    Thank god for Plex :smile: . I still use my Squeezebox Radio's in the kids rooms, so its good to know you can still control them with something remotely (we are all iPhone and Android using OS's that dont support the apps anymore, but I do have a laptop :wink: )
    "....not everything that can be counted counts, and not everything that counts can be counted." William Bruce Cameron, Informal Sociology: A Casual Introduction to Sociological Thinking (1963)
Sign In or Register to comment.

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!