What color is this?

2»

Comments

• Thorton
    Thorton Posts: 1,324
    Yep2 wrote: »
    Thorton wrote: »
    Polk lists these as Midnight Mahogany. As F1 mentioned these probably are a tri-coat system or a tinted clear. They will look different under a different light sources and also different under the viewing angle you look at them. In many cases, the result is very good. As we all know, it's very difficult taking pictures of finishes that actually show how they look in person.

Im just saying you can duplicate any finish with some test pieces.
    I have to do it for a living.

Yup. I agree. And you can do it in many different ways. A current project my team is working on is doing a similar thing you do for the automotive industry.
    _____________________________________________________________________________________________
    Ethernet Filter: GigaFOILv4 with Keces P3 LPS
    Source: Roon via ethernet to DAC interface
    DAC: Bricasti M1SE
    Pre/Pro: Marantz AV8805
    Tube Preamp Buffer: Tortuga TPB.V1
    Amp1: Nord One NC1200DM Signature, Amp2: W4S MC-5, AMP3: W4S MMC-7
    Front: Salk SoundScape 8's, Center: Salk SoundScape C7
    Surround: Polk FXIA6, Surround Back: Polk RTIA9, Atmos: Polk 70-RT
    Subs: 2 - Rythmik F25's
    IC & Speaker Cables: Acoustic Zen, Wireworld, Signal Cable
    Power Cables: Acoustic Zen, Wireworld, PS Audio
    Room Treatments: GIK Acoustics
  • BlueFox
    BlueFox Posts: 15,251
    BlueFox wrote: »
    And all I am saying is Polk needs to mention the color will vary depending on the lighting.

Anything/Everything will.

Thanks for nothing. LOL

Lumin X1 file player, Westminster Labs interconnect cable
    Sony XA-5400ES SACD; Pass XP-22 pre; X600.5 amps
    Magico S5 MKII Mcast Rose speakers; SPOD spikes

Shunyata Triton v3/Typhon QR on source, Denali 2000 (2) on amps
    Shunyata Sigma XLR analog ICs, Sigma speaker cables
    Shunyata Sigma HC (2), Sigma Analog, Sigma Digital, Z Anaconda (3) power cables