Polk psw 505 not loud anymore

Options
barmstr6
barmstr6 Posts: 5
edited August 2017 in Troubleshooting
I have had my polk psw 505 for almost 5 months and it was great. While watching Game of Thrones, a bass heavy show, I wasnt getting the type of bass I was used to. I have an Onkyo TX SR 353 receiver and two Polk T50 speakers. The bass volume was already turned up about 2/3 of the way, but now I cant even hear any bass unless it is almost maxed out. Im new to audio so can someone help me diagnose my situation and let me know if it is a hardware issue or setting issue.

Thank you.

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    Options
    Hello,
    Welcome to Polk's forum. The best way to test a subwoofer is to substitute another source directly into the unit. First turn the volume all the way down on the sub (as a side note don't turn your sub's volume control past the 12:00 o'clock position) and remove your connecting cable from the receiver. Then connect the cable to either the right or left audio out of your DVD player. Then start playing a CD and slowly turn up the sub's volume, you should hear plenty of bass at moderate volume settings.
    Regards, Ken
  • barmstr6
    Options
    I dont have a DVD player. I use my Xbox One to watch movies. Do you have any other suggestions?
  • ken brydson
    ken brydson Posts: 8,650
    Options
    barmstr6 wrote: »
    I dont have a DVD player. I use my Xbox One to watch movies. Do you have any other suggestions?

Anything with an RCA output will work. Sure your x box has them.
  • barmstr6
    Options
    I use an LFE cord. When I unplug from my receiver and touch the end of the LFE cord, I hear the bass I expect to hear. Watching tv and stuff movies Im not getting the bass I want. I recallibrated my receiver but still not getting much bass.
  • polrbehr
    polrbehr Posts: 2,826
    Options