A Big THANK YOU to some GREAT Polkies & a new phono pre kit is finally complete

Options
halo
halo Posts: 5,616
edited July 2017 in 2 Channel Audio
I can not take any of the credit for the completion of this phono pre kit from Bottlehead aside from the fact that I provided the funds to purchase it initially and the caps needed to modify it later.

It all began when @mhardy6647 posted a thread notifying the forum that the Bottlehead brand was having a sale on its popular Reduction phono preamp kit. I asked a few questions and those in the know stated that the Bottlehead kits were pretty spectacular so I purchased the kit along with the Induction upgrade. Thanks to the sale price, I was all in, including shipping, for less than the regular cost of the Reduction kit alone; I couldn't pass that up.

Here's the rub, I have no soldering experience whatsoever. Bottlehead claims that "anyone can do it" but, after touching base with a few folks, I learned that this isn't really an ideal kit for beginners. Thankfully, @SCompRacer saved my a$$ when he volunteered his time and his talents in assembling the kit, for which I am extremely grateful.

@ALL212 was kind enough to offer a lot of advice and input as well as the caps I'd need later on to have SCompRacer modify the kit to "match" a new/different preamp that I picked up. ALL212 also sent me an additional Alder base that he wasn't using so my brother-in-law could have the exact dimensions on hand to create a base for me from some Mahogany wood mt relatives brought back from Monrovia in the late 1950's. ALL212 has a lot of experience with the brand and he is a really great resource and a pretty cool dude overall.