What's your "Giant killer" cartridge?

Options
I'm so deep in this vinyl rabbit hole and I just can't stop. I'm loving the sound I'm getting from my Nottingham/soundsmith combo, it's so, so good. I don't mind all the tinkering, and fiddling required. If anything it keeps me from being bored.

But I'm always left wondering, what cartridges out there perform at twice or 3 times their price point. There is so much out there, and I'm still new to vinyl.

I recently acquired an ortofon MC 20 MKii from a friend for free, and waiting on a spare headshell to get it up and running. I've heard it many times before and sold for a pretty penny back in the day, it is very linear and smooth.

So... What's your giant killer?
2 channel:
Bryston 4B3, Bryston BDA3, Cary SLP05, Shanling CDT1000SE with parts conneXion level 2 mods, Nottingham analogue ace space 294, soundsmith Carmen MKii, Zu DL103 MKii, Ortofon MC 20 MKii, Dynavector XX2 MKii, Rogue Audio Ares, Core power technologies balanced power conditioner, Akiko Corelli power conditioner with Akiko Audio HQ power cable, Nordost heimdall 2, Frey 2, interconnects, speaker and power cables, Focal Electra 1028 BE 2, Auralic Aries Femto, Black diamond racing cones, ingress audio level 1 roller blocks, JL Audio E110 with Auralic subdude, Primacoustics room treatments.
Theater:
Focal Aria 926,905,CC900, SVS PB ultra x2. Pioneer Elite SC85, Oppo BDP93, Panamax M5400PM, Minix neox6, Nordost Blue heaven LS power cables.

Comments

• mhardy6647
    mhardy6647 Posts: 33,035
    edited July 2017
    Options
    Denon DL-103. At the "Comet Supply" price of a few years ago ($118) it was pretty much the best value in hifi (to my tastes, at any rate) extant -- providing, of course, one has hardware empathetic to its nearly legendary idosyncrasies. :)

13976194526_7d13352424_b.jpgspinnin1f by Mark Hardy, on Flickr
    (the Technics' arm is barely up to the task of handling the ultra-low-compliance DL-103 -- but it's close enough for me, for now)