Audiogon transaction question

Options
Joey_V
Joey_V Posts: 8,520
So I purchased a Shunyata Anaconda CX 20 amp power cord.

The asking was $825 + what appeared to be $10.80 usps shipping charge.

The final accepted offer was $800 + $10.80 shipping.

So that's what I paid.

He ships the item then sends me a message and says the shipping was $30 and he would like to collect the difference.

Now, I'm not new to this. I've sold things before where I underestimated the shipping cost... But I ate the loss.

What would you do as the buyer or seller?

Easy thing to do is pay it. But I am thinking of involving audiogon and disputing it.

The item is already enroute to me.
Magico, JL, Emm, ARC Ref 10 line, ARC Ref 10 phono, VPI, Lyra, Boulder, AQ Wel, SRA Scuttle Rack, Bluesound

Comments

• codycatalist
    codycatalist Posts: 2,662
    Options
    I'm not a rocket scientist but that don't sound right.
    Just a dude doing dude-ly things

"Temptation is the manifestation of desire which equals necessity." - Mikey081057
    " I have always had a champange taste with a beer budget" - Rick88
    "Just because the thread is getting views don't mean much .. I like a good train wreck doesn't mean i want to be in one..." - pitdogg2
    "Those that don't know, don't know that they don't know." - heiney9
    "Audiophiles are the male equivalent of cat ladies." - Audiokarma Member
  • mrbiron
    mrbiron Posts: 5,711
    Options
    If the offer was accepted at those terms, then he can pound sand and I would get audiogon involved before he tarnishes your feedback.
    Where’s the KABOOM?!?! There’s supposed to be an Earth shattering KABOOM!!!
  • mikeyb128
    mikeyb128 Posts: 2,885
    Options
    When shipping I usually use the online calculator, but seems that every time I ship there is some extra cost. I eat the cost and go on with my life. I certainly don't ask the buyer for the difference.
    2 channel: