upgrade to lsim705s and bridged behringer a500s.

Options
arekon
arekon Posts: 77
edited April 2017 in Speakers
hey guys, im new to the joint and am somewhat coherent to the audio world and am a polk fan.
wanna upgrade the rig with 2 behringer a500s and lsim705s for fronts and send the current fronts to the back.
currently have a pioneer sc68 with monitor 75s for fronts, a csia6 for centre and klipsch icon vf35s as rears with lsim703 and rm101s in zone 2. the room is 23' by 13' with a 70" 7 series sharp with a psw 505 and a def tech 312 for subs.
with all that in mind what do you all think? is it worth the upgrade? also, i live in a well insulated townhouse with good neighbors.
i also have a pioneer vsx90 with t600s a csia4 and rtia1s on another floor and a subtle sb9500bt in the bedroom on another floor. i love polk! any feedback would be great, i love talkin audio.

Comments

• tonyb
    tonyb Posts: 32,906
    Options
    I'd definitely reconsider the Behringers for amplification. Pro amps usually don't sound that great for home audio. Maybe a Parasound amp, B&K, McCormack, and a host of others would do well with the LSIM's.

Matter of fact, I'd try the 705's on the Pioneer first, they are pretty easy to drive speakers and don't need a ton of juice and the Pioneer has some giddy-up to it. You have a sub in the mix too, so much of the heavy lifting is being done there.

I'd also move the Monitors to zone 2 and use the 703's with the 705's in that system. Just an early morning thought, by 2 pm my thoughts may change. :)

Oh, and welcome to the forum.
    HT SYSTEM-
    Sony 850c 4k
    Pioneer elite vhx 21
    Sony 4k BRP
    SVS SB-2000
    Polk Sig. 20's
    Polk FX500 surrounds

Cables-
    Acoustic zen Satori speaker cables
    Acoustic zen Matrix 2 IC's
    Wireworld eclipse 7 ic's
    Audio metallurgy ga-o digital cable

Kitchen

Sonos zp90
    Grant Fidelity tube dac
    B&k 1420
    lsi 9's
  • rooftop59
    rooftop59 Posts: 7,973
    Options