Polk rm1000 passive subwoofer on dedicated amplifier

Options
I am wondering if I have gone with the best setup for my situation using a Polk rm1000. I am new to subwoofer connections.
Here is the full picture

Primary amp: Mid range Sony DTS 5.1 receiver from early 2000s, I believe 600watts
connected to...
Front Left and Front Right are Polk RT800i tower speakers
Center Channel is a Polk CS400i speaker
Surround Left and Surround Right are Polk S10 tower speakers
---
Secondary amp: 1990s Denon Pro logic receiver, I believe 80 or 100w per channel
connected to...
Subwoofer Polk rm1000 (satellites not in use here)

The Sony receiver has two LFE/subwoofer RCA outputs on the back.
I connected both of the Sony LFE/subwoofer RCA outputs to RCA inputs on the Denon Receiver using decent RCA cables. I connected one to a left channel RCA AUX input and one to a right channel RCA AUX input.
I am sending the two Sony LFE/subwoofer outs to the TAPE channels inputs on the Denon to "power" the Polk rm1000 passive subwoofer. I used the Denon's standard speaker A Left and Right outputs to the Left and Right "speaker" inputs on the Polk rm1000 using decent speaker wire.

My questions for someone at Polk or someone of knowledge is:
Is there a better way to connect this sub using my existing equipment? Since this is a passive sub I know I need the amp/receiver to drive it. My Sony is running the mains, center, and surround, all as large speakers (they are) all while sending the LFE to the Denon w/ connected sub. I have read mains should be set as small, but I am not sure this is necessary or best in my setup.