Receiver for Polk Rti a5 speakers???

Any receiver recommendations? I have two polk rtia5 speakers at 150W each. Does the receiver need to be 150W per channel?

And should I also Bi-wire or no?

I'm a rookie to home audio and I want a great system !

Comments

• cfrizz
    cfrizz Posts: 13,415
    edited March 2017
    Welcome to Club Polk Riadanouti!

Don't just think of the speakers you have today, but what future upgrades you might want in the future.

What features do you want it to have? Get one that has all the bells and whistles that you want it to have, but most importantly, make sure it has preouts so that in the future you can purchase a separate amplifier to ensure that your speakers are operating to their full potential.

While just about any receiver will drive them, until they are getting all the power that they need you won't really know just how good your speakers can sound just being powered by a receiver.

This has nothing to do with volume, this has to do with better clarity in both music and vocals, it also improves bass. I always suggest getting a 200wpc amp.

But right now, just focus on getting the receiver that has everything that you want it to do currently.

Tell us more on how you are going to utilize your system, and how much you are willing to spend, and if you are willing to purchase used gear.

Don't forget to think in terms of future upgrades and be willing to spend a little extra to save you money in the future.
    Marantz AV-7705 PrePro, Classé 5 channel 200wpc Amp, Oppo 103 BluRay, Rotel RCD-1072 CDP, Sony XBR-49X800E TV, Polk S60 Main Speakers, Polk ES30 Center Channel, Polk S15 Surround Speakers SVS SB12-NSD x2
  • Thank you cfrizz. Speakers are mainly used to have a cinema like feeling when I watch movies I my pretty open basement.
  • cfrizz
    cfrizz Posts: 13,415