Parasound A23 or BK ex-442

Options
I've been running my 1c's for about a year now off of my Adcom gfa 555 and although i enjoy the sound, i have the itch to try something else.
So a couple amps locally have sparked my interest. Theres a A23 that has an asking price of $500 and another guy has the BK ex442 with the pro10 preamp for $550. What would you guys suggest? Mind you someday i may move up to some srs 2.3s or 1.2 (my dreams), so will these handle the big boys?
Thanks

Comments

• zarrdoss
    zarrdoss Posts: 2,562
    Options
    My opinion is neither are a significant step up over what you have now. I have no experience with Parasound but hear good things, its newer but not really enough power to run bigger SDA's if you get them in the future. It will power them but better off with 200 WPC or above. The Adcom and the B&K have the same power output and could run some Bigger SDA's in the future. I have had Adcom and B&K both and would have to go with B&K.
    I would wait and save for a bigger step up if I were you, but if you are just itching to spend money my vote goes for the B&K.
    There is also the issue if all these amps are common ground, which I do not know.

Good luck, Kevin
  • Gerres26
    Gerres26 Posts: 863
    Options
    Ok, so this went faster than i thought. The guy selling the B&k ex442 with the pro 10 pre agreed to come down quite a bit if i agreed to meet up tomorrow morning. So looks like I'll be giving the B&k combo a try first. The way i see it, if it doesnt fit what im looking for i should be able to sell that combo for more than i will have in it.

Excited to try this different gear out. I'll report back tomorrow night on my thoughts.
  • zarrdoss
    Options
    I don't think you can go wrong with B&K. I have never had that particular amp but have had a reference 4420 and an Adcom 555 and prefer the B&K sound over Adcom. Keep us posted.
  • halo
    halo Posts: 5,616
    Options