Where can I find instructions on recapping Polk 7A's (4ohm tweeter)

Options
tat
tat Posts: 159
I don't want to use expensive caps, just the best type for the job. I pulled the crossovers and they look pretty cramped for working but I have some experience soldering successfully. I might consider sending them to somebody if that is an option. Thanks.
When freedom is outlawed, only outlaws are free...

Best Answer

• F1nut
    F1nut Posts: 49,806
    Answer ✓
    Options
    Sonicap Gen I or Clarity ESA for caps at a minimum. It goes way up from there with Jupiter and Duelund being at the top. Mills or Mox for resistors with Path and Duelund at the top.
    Political Correctness'.........defined

"A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a t-u-r-d by the clean end."

President of Club Polk

Answers

• F1nut
    Options
    Expensive caps are the best for the job. This forum is full of crossover mod info, just takes some searching.

"A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a t-u-r-d by the clean end."

President of Club Polk

• tat
    Options
    Thanks guys. I'm new here, I just finally figured out how to get to the thread I started so it'll take some time. I had heard rumours of a guy who sells a "kit" with all the parts, Im afraid I am going to leave out something. Do you just shotgun ALL the caps with equivelant value (proper polarity) and that's it?
  • F1nut
    Options
    Crossover caps do not have polarity.

You're probably thinking about member, westmassguy.

President of Club Polk

• pitdogg2
    pitdogg2 Posts: 24,585
    Options