Best Budget Headphone Amp

Options
daboyz
daboyz Posts: 5,206
Waiting on the Shure SRH840's to get here. Wondering if there is a good amp to help them out. I'm new to listening to headphones so wanting to stay below $125. Tubes would be a plus.

Comments

• seabeerob213
    seabeerob213 Posts: 1,840
    edited February 2015
    Options
    I am running a FIIO Montblanc(E12), picked it up for free actually, store error didn't see till I got home and read the receipt. Works much better than tablet or player alone as I found out quick. Sounds pretty good with the m50s.they marked it down to 80 bucks here.

*only headphone amp I've used.
    2 Channel(work in progress):DAC: Schiit modi 2 uberAmp:Parasound 1200 MK IISub:RBH 1010-SEP Speakers: Monitor 5A peerlesscurrently running some krk rokit 3g since the HK pre outs died and i need to start breaking everything down to move in a couple monthsHeadphones:Source: tidalDAC: schiit modius epre: schiit sysAmp: AQ dragonfly black/ schiit magni2 Cans: Velodyne V-True, Grado SR225i, sennheiser x drop gaming headsetPC:DAC: schiit modius e(over spdif)pre: schiit sysspeakers: prenous eris 5 xtSub: Earthquake Sound MiniMe-P63most of my comments are passing on of info, im a noob, im just trying to help how i can, if im wrong or out of place to comment, dont hesitate to let me know :)"WITH WILLING HEARTS AND SKILLFUL HANDS, THE DIFFICULT WE DO AT ONCE, THE IMPOSSIBLE TAKES A BIT LONGER, WITH COMPASSION FOR OTHERS. WE BUILD - WE FIGHT FOR PEACE WITH FREEDOM"Seabee Memorial, Arlington, VA
  • DaveHo
    DaveHo Posts: 3,480
    Options
    Portable or desktop? I used a Schitt Asgard 2 to power them. It's above your price point, but I have seen them go for $150ish on the used market. Prior to the Schitt, & before I owned the 840's, I had a Headroom Total Airhead. No longer in production, but if you can find one on the used market it's a respectable little amp.
  • daboyz
    Options